Occipital bone

Ask a question


The skull, or occipital bone, consists of three main parts. The first is formed by a shell that corresponds to the posterior part of the cranial vault. The second consists of a basal part that configures the rear portion of the base of the skull, whereas the third is formed by two lateral junctions whose main purpose is to support the head above the spine. The occipital bone is connected to the parietal, sphenoid, temporal, and atlas bones.