Upper maxilla bone

Ask a question


Formerly called the upper maxilla, the jawbone is part of the facial skeleton. It consists of two asymmetrical bones that extend on either side of the midline of the face. Together they form the lower maxillary bone of the bony orbit, the lateral face of the nasal cavity, the upper dental arch, and the hard palate. Just like many bones, it has many joints connected to other bones including those of the facial bones and some of the skull bones like the sphenoid, frontal, and ethmoid bone.