Pectoral muscle

Ask a question


The pectoral muscles are located on the surface of the thorax. There are two pectoral muscles: the pectoralis minor and pectoralis major. The pectoral muscles are in the shape of a fan. They are connected to the sternum, clavicle, ribs, and humerus. The pectoralis major muscle is above the pectoralis minor muscle. The innervation of the pectoral muscles is assured by the pectoral nerves. Pectoral muscles enable a person to raise their arms.